New to our website?

Or register here!


register
 
  Or log in as a Registered Member  
  login name password  
 
   
  Experience Winter at UBC Botanical Garden during the Games
  Feb 12-28 & Mar 12-21, 2010 Activities: Daily drop-in to...  
  Celebrating Winter in UBC Botanical Garden
  Daniel Mosquin January 25, 2010 Finding beauty in biodivers...  
  Upcoming Noon Lectures at UBC Botanical Garden
  Resolutions for Biodiversity Daniel Mosquin January 11, 201...  
 
Heritage Garden Feild Day

...
Tossing the Compost

Compost and soils...
Fire Ecology

Plant regeneration after a prairie fire...
 


     
 

Biological diversity is of vital importance for the health and well being of all life. Yet natural habitats are being destroyed at an alarmingly accelerated pace, threatening the source of the diversity on which we depend. In protecting biodiversity, the importance of plants must not be overlooked. With the ability to harness energy from the sun and produce oxygen, plants are the basis of life on earth. 

To adequately protect plants and their habitats, conservation efforts and public awareness of these efforts must improve. Canadian Botanical Gardens host over 4.5 million visitors per year and are important science and educational facilities, providing leadership in plant conservation and public education. 

The mission of this Website is to serve as a resource to support outreach efforts of Canadian botanical gardens, museums and zoos related to plant conservation. The Canadian Outreach Guide to Plant Biodiversity Education will gather existing expertise from our partner institutions to create an evolving database where activities, info, links, etc. are shared within the network of Canadian botanical gardens. 


 
   
 

This website is under continuous development and fully depends on its members' contributions. So, please join in and help take plant biodiversity education a step further!

The Canadian Outreach Guide to Plant Biodiversity Education assumes no liability for the content of this website.

 

   

  English displayed unless unavailable from sources and contributors.
Copyright (c) 2007 The Canadian Outreach Guide to Plant Biodiversity Education |
Website design by Artemedia
Top of page

Nouveau sur notre site ?

Pour devenir membre :


register
 
  Ou si vous avez déjà un compte, connectez-vous ici :
  Nom Mot de passe  
 
   
  Experience Winter at UBC Botanical Garden during the Games
  Feb 12-28 & Mar 12-21, 2010 Activities: Daily drop-in to...  
  Celebrating Winter in UBC Botanical Garden
  Daniel Mosquin January 25, 2010 Finding beauty in biodivers...  
  Upcoming Noon Lectures at UBC Botanical Garden
  Resolutions for Biodiversity Daniel Mosquin January 11, 201...  
 
Heritage Garden Feild Day

...
En plein dans le compost!

Compost et sols....
L’écologie par le feu

La régénération des plantes après un feu de prairie....
 


     
 

La diversité biologique est d'une importance vitale pour la santé et le bien-être de toute forme de vie. Pourtant, les habitats naturels sont détruits à une vitesse alarmante, ce qui met en danger la source de la diversité dont nous dépendons. Dans la lutte pour la protection de la biodiversité, l'importance des végétaux ne doit pas être ignorée. Avec leur capacité à exploiter l'énergie du soleil et à produire de l'oxygène, les plantes sont à la base de la vie sur Terre.

Pour protéger les plantes et leurs habitats, nous devons redoubler d'efforts en conservation et dans la sensibilisation du public à ces initiatives. Institutions scientifiques et éducatives de premier plan, les jardins botaniques canadiens, qui accueillent plus de 4,5 millions de visiteurs chaque année, donnent l'exemple en matière de conservation des plantes et assurent l'éducation du public.

Ce site Internet vise à soutenir les jardins botaniques, zoos et musées canadiens dans leur rôle de ressource éducative au sein de la communauté, hors de leur champ d’action traditionnel qui se limite trop souvent à leurs murs. Le Guide canadien de sensibilisation à la conservation de la biodiversité végétale met en commun l’expertise de nos institutions partenaires afin de créer une base de données dynamique, dans laquelle seront partagés notamment des activités éducatives, des informations, et des liens électroniques.

 

   
 

Ce site Internet est en constant développement et dépend uniquement de la contribution de ses membres. Alors, rejoignez-nous et aidez-nous à faire avancer l'éducation à la biodiversité végétale !

Le Guide canadien de sensibilisation à la conservation de la biodiversité végétale n'assume aucune responsabilité quant au contenu enregistré par ses membres.

 

   

  Français disponible sauf en l'absence de traduction par la source ou les contributeurs.
Copyright (c) 2007 Guide canadien de sensibilisation à la conservation de la biodiversité végétale. Tous droits réservés |
Design par Artemedia
Haut de page